Seizing the day

There’s a saying, when life gives you lemons make lemonade, I say when life and all of its blessings gives you the opportunity to wake up in the morning be it at 5.30am (and during valuable leave from work) be thankful. If my life’s events of the last few years have taught me anything it is definately the importance of seizing every moment and making memories.

Whether your just taking time off to be at home or you’re able to have escaped somewhere new for a week like myself and my husband. Embrace that chance to make the best of the day. 

Today for instance I found myself wide awake, showered, dressed and ready for the day by 6am (my husband still fast asleep, having a well deserved lie in) So instead of just lounging around (which would have been completely acceptable while on annual leave) I left our friends holiday home in Rhosneigr, N. Wales (we are lucky enough to be staying here for the week as a wedding gift) and walked the very short path down to the sea. I stood there looking out and as I did I reflected on just how blessed I am to be able to see Gods creation in all it’s glory. The sun shining the waves slowly lapping up on the sand. It was beautiful. I stood still in tranquil calm. For once I didn’t feel the weight of concerns at home, any burdens weighing me down. It was as though I had left them down the train track in Crewe. If only for just a week I had the chance to take a break from routine, every day tasks and feel a realease. I knew it would only be a temporary respite from the norm but I was grateful for that. I was able to seize the moment and be grateful for time and opportunity to recuperate and bring together my thoughts somewhere different. 

I want to wake each morning like today with that gratitude for the day, for life and for all that I am part of. Gods creation, my family and my friendships. I look forward to every moment and if I have 2 aspirations in life I hope that one is that my being makes just a small difference to this world and the second that I am able to show gratitude for all that I have and have to come. My family, my friends, my faith in God and my work. 

We all have a purpose and God has a plan for each of us, it’s noticing during the paths we follow and the discoveries we make just what that plan is. Everyday day won’t be as exciting as the next it may be mundane and more challenging than we expect but I’ve learnt that God only deals out what he knows we can deal with and that includes the faith he has in us to take risks and feel pain. Anyone who loves there family and friends would walk over hot coals for them or take a bullet for them. We only hope we never have to but we would want to feel that if we did God would be walking across those coals or would be there in the cross fire with us and that we would make it through. 

So don’t be afraid to sieze the day, be thankful for everyday life, be it the mundane because it’s another day we’re alive and rejoice in the excitement of adventure. Everyday is another chance to be part of Gods wonderful creation alongside those we are gifted to have beside us. 

Leave a Reply

