My blessings

Since the day I was born I have never gone without all that I need. I believe I was loved and wanted before I was even conceived… because my parents wished for children from the day they decided that wanted to spend the rest of their lives together. They would and do see me as a blessing to them but I feel blessed to be able to call them my parents.

This isn’t to imply it’s all been plain sailing. Through all the challenges and sadly heartbreak parenthood can bring they have given me all the blessings they possibly could. I believe their love for each other, their selflessness, their wonderful personalities and values in life are shaping me in to the person I am today and will continue to become! This isn’t to say that I won’t or haven’t made mistakes ( I can vouch that I have made them in bucketfuls and will continue to trip up and make poor decisions) but I have always been taught to persevere (ever since the struggles I faced as a child learning to ride my bike or to colour within the lines at primary school) My parents have always encouraged me to try my best, turning up at every parents evening and reading every school report with me and reassuring me that all I can do is my best and to have more faith in my own abilities…

This has never come naturally to me though and like many of us self doubt and fear comes over me like a tsunami at times but I have learnt to stop and reflect along my life’s journey how much I am growing as a person each day. I’m less fearful of taking chances, of being me and letting others see me the real me. I am learning that my family and friends love me for who I am. I am becoming stronger and more able to make more better decisions than poorer ones. I want to help others more and think less about how something would benefit me because this world isn’t just about what I can get out of it. 

We have all seen on the news this last week how kind selfless gestures can make a world of difference and when people who have little are the ones saving people it should make us all reflect on how we can use our kind, loving, human nature to make this world a better place in times of fear and uncertainty. So wake up every morning with the intention of making a difference, making a change and showing thanks for all you have because life is one huge blessing from God. Whether you have a faith or not be faithful and thankful to yourself and those you love. However long we have on this earth with our ones is a precious gift so give thanks for all you have and live life for today.

Leave a Reply

